GameSpot

Fortnite Xbox One Is Broken After Season 6 Update; Epic Investigating Crashes

It’s an exciting day for Fortnite fans, as Season 6 of Battle Royale has begun with the launch of a new update. Unfortunately for those attempting to play on Xbox One, the game has been rendered unplayable for many, as crashes prevent players from even accessing the main menu.

Reports of issues began coming in after the new 6.0 update went live. Epic has confirmed on Reddit that it’s aware and investigating the problem. Its most recent update states, “We are continuing to investigate crashes occurring on Xbox. We appreciate your patience and will update you once we’ve resolved the issue.” That came at 6:30 AM PT / 9:30 AM ET / 2:30 PM BST, and there’s been no further word as of the time of this writing.

This is a more significant than average issue, given that for Xbox players, it renders the game unplayable. After reaching the Press A screen, it proceeds to load but then freezes before you’re able to access the Save the World or Battle Royale menus. That means you can’t even get to the screen showing off the adorable new pets Season 6 has introduced.

Of course, with cross-play for Fortnite now extended to PS4, you can jump in with your account on any platform and return to playing on Xbox One once the issue is resolved. That requires you to have another system to play on, but if you’re eager to see the newly revamped map, even your phone might suffice.

We’ll report back as Epic shares more about the Xbox One crashes. In the meantime, check out all the Season 6 Battle Pass skins and rewards.

Source
Author: GameSpot

Back To Top
contact_small.png