The Witcher 3’s Geralt Coming To Monster Hunter World Today

Following his guest appearance in SoulCalibur VI, The Witcher 3’s Geralt of Rivia is venturing into Capcom’s hit action RPG, Monster Hunter World. The White Wolf will arrive as a free update for the PS4 and Xbox One versions today, February 7 (with a PC release to follow later), and he’ll come alongside new Witcher-inspired quests.

The update is scheduled to go live at 4 PM PT / 7 PM ET (12 AM GMT on February 8). Capcom hasn’t shared many details yet on what the new quests will entail, but the publisher says they’ll have “a unique flavor, blending the RPG mechanics of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt with Monster Hunter World’s game systems.”

According to Capcom, the Witcher collaboration event was developed closely with CD Projekt Red, the studio behind the Witcher series and the upcoming Cyberpunk 2077. Geralt’s original voice actor was also brought in to provide new voice over work for the collaboration.

Geralt arrives in the midst of Monster Hunter World’s first anniversary event, the Appreciation Fest. The event will continue to run on all platforms until February 21, and it brings back most of the game’s previous Event Quests alongside some new ones. Players can also craft new anniversary gear sets for their hunters and Palicos.

Monster Hunter World has been a huge critical and commercial success for Capcom since it launched last January. The publisher recently revealed the title has sold more than 11 million copies world. Its positive critical reception also helped Capcom claim the honor of being Metacritic’s top publisher of 2018.

Capcom still has a lot more new content planned for Monster Hunter World. This fall, the publisher will release Iceborne, a major paid expansion that will introduce new monsters to hunt, locales to explore, gear to craft, and other content.

Source
Author: GameSpot