The Game Awards Team Hosting New Game Announcements Show At Gamescom

The team behind The Game Awards have announced a new live show to be held at Gamescom 2019. Gamescom: Opening Night Live will air from Cologne, Germany, and it will include “announcements from major game publishers and independent developers, world premieres of new game footage and special guest appearances from the stars of the gaming industry.”

The show will be hosted and produced by Geoff Keighley, along with The Game Awards producer Kimmie H. Kim. It will air in front of a live audience and be streamed worldwide on August 19 from 8 PM CEST / 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST (4 AM AET on August 20).

The TGAs have continued to become a bigger part of the gaming calendar since their introduction in 2014. The ceremonies typically include new trailers for existing and as-yet-unannounced games, and they tend to have a rather more relaxed nature than comparable award ceremonies in other industries. They are perhaps best known for A Way Out creator Josef Fares’ “f** the Oscars” outburst in 2017.

Gamescom, meanwhile, has been running since 2009 and has become the world’s biggest video games convention. Over 370,000 people attend each year in Cologne’s Koelnmesse.

Source
Author: GameSpot