GameSpot

Pokemon Sword And Shield Direct: How To Watch, Start Times, And More

We’re only a few days away from E3 2019, but for Pokemon fans, the most exciting news is coming this week. Ahead of Nintendo’s E3 livestream, the company is broadcasting a special Pokemon Direct this Wednesday, June 5. In contrast to the broader E3 Direct set for next week, which will showcase a number of Switch games coming in 2019, this week’s presentation will focus exclusively on Pokemon Sword and Shield. If you’re eager to tune in, here’s everything you need to know about when the Pokemon Direct starts and what to expect from it.

What Time Does The Pokemon Direct Livestream Start?

Fans in the US will need to wake up a little early to catch Wednesday’s Pokemon Direct, as the broadcast is scheduled to begin at 6 AM PT / 9 AM ET. That translates to 2 PM BST in the UK. Those in Australia, meanwhile, will need to stay up until 11 PM AEST to watch the presentation.

  • 6 AM PT
  • 9 AM ET
  • 2 PM BST
  • 11 PM AEST

Where To Watch

Nintendo will be streaming the Pokemon Direct on its usual channels. You’ll be able to watch the broadcast on the company’s website, as well as on its YouTube or Twitch pages. You can also tune in right here on GameSpot and watch the Direct via the embed below once it goes live.

What To Expect

All Nintendo has said about the Pokemon Direct is that it will showcase “roughly 15 minutes of new information on Pokemon Sword and Shield.” Just what that entails is anyone’s guess at this point, but considering this will mark the first time we’re getting new details about the games since they were unveiled back in February, there will presumably be a lot to dig into. One thing we can safely count on seeing, though, is new Pokemon. Each new generation of games introduces a variety of new monsters to catch and raise. So far, we’ve only seen the three new starters players will be able to choose from, so Nintendo will likely unveil at least a few more Gen 8 monsters during the Direct.

We’ll also likely learn more about the games’ cast and setting. Nintendo has already confirmed that Sword and Shield take place in an entirely new region called Galar, and we’ve gotten a quick glimpse at some of the places players will be able to explore, but we don’t yet know anything about the games’ story. Nintendo will presumably use the presentation to introduce some of the characters players will meet on their journey, such as your new rival (or rivals) and the professor who’ll be giving you your first Pokemon. We may also get a look at the villainous team serving as Sword and Shield’s main antagonists.

One more thing we can expect to see is a new gameplay mechanic. Nearly every installment in the series thus far has introduced some sort of new feature to keep gameplay fresh, such as Mega Evolution in Pokemon X and Y, and Z-moves in Sun and Moon, and that trend will likely continue with Sword and Shield. We don’t yet know what form that mechanic will take, but give that it will presumably play an integral role in adventure, we’ll likely get our first look at it this week. We may also get to see the games’ cover art, and possibly a new Legendary Pokemon. For more thoughts, check out what we hope to see from Pokemon Sword and Shield at E3 2019.

Source
Author: GameSpot

Back To Top
contact_small.png