GameSpot

SpongeBob Game Remake Revealed Ahead Of E3

Just ahead of E3, publisher THQ Nordic has announced SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom–Rehydrated is coming to Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC at some point in the future.

The brief 20-second trailer doesn’t give away much of anything, but we do know this is a remake of a cult classic platformer originally released back in October of 2003. Purple Lamp Studios–who previously developed The Guild 3–is handling development, and the game’s official description has revealed there will be an all-new multiplayer mode beyond the single-player hijinks of SpongeBob, Patrick, and Sandy.

The announcement goes on to say, “The cult classic is back, faithfully remade in spongetastic splendor! Play as SpongeBob, Patrick and Sandy and show the evil Plankton that crime pays even less than Mr. Krabs. Want to save Bikini Bottom from lots of rampant robots? Of course you do! Want to underpants bungee jump? Why wouldn’t you! Want to join forces in a brand new multiplayer mode? The battle is on!”

This is the first of three new game announcements THQ Nordic has promised for this week. The second will be unveiled June 6 at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST, while the third will arrive on June 7 at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST.

Rumours have been swirling after an e-mail sent to press regarding E3 appointments gave away some scarce details that point to the possibility of new games in the Destroy All Humans and Darksiders franchises. An E3 panel certainly seems to point to the latter, with Darksiders: Action Adventure Evolved set to discuss “the inception of the Darksiders universe and where it’s headed next.”

Source
Author: GameSpot

Back To Top
contact_small.png