GameSpot

E3 2019: FIFA 20 Release Date Confirmed

Right off the back of announcing FIFA 20, EA has now confirmed when you can get your hands on this year’s football game. FIFA 20‘s release date has been set for September 27.

The publisher revealed the news in a short teaser clip, which you can watch below. The video once again features a strange “V” logo, as well as some more generic soccer footage. EA has not yet confirmed which platforms FIFA 20 will launch for, but the series typically comes to PS4, Xbox One, PC, Nintendo Switch, PS3, and Xbox 360.

Rather than revealing more information now, EA plans on talking more about this year’s football game at EA Play. The publisher says a “full FIFA 20 reveal” is coming on June 8 at 7 AM PT / 10 AM ET / 3 PM BST (that’s 12 AM AET on June 9). Four hours later, EA will hold the FIFA section of its EA Play livestream.

Despite it having only just been confirmed, EA did share some of FIFA 20’s gameplay changes just recently. Top of the list is AI defending, EA said, with a larger emphasis and incentive placed on manual defending, as opposed to letting the computer defend for you. One of the ways EA plans to do this is by increasing the likelihood a manual tackle will propel the ball to a teammate. Automatic defending will see its overall efficacy reduced and reaction times slowed.

Shooting is also being revamped, with attackers given greater accuracy during easy shooting scenarios, such as being clean through against the ‘keeper. Goalkeepers’ reaction times will be reduced in these situations to resolve the sometimes “superhuman” reactions players complained of. Additionally, the timing window for green timed shots is being reduced to two frames for all shots, and they’ll also be “slightly less precise.” EA did, however, reassure players that green timed shots will “still be more accurate than non-timed shots.”

Lots of work is being done on making passing and shooting more realistic, EA says, especially when it comes to difficult strikes. Volleys will be more variable and less accurate, for example, while 180° and first-time passes will result in “slower/weaker balls.” To compensate, easy situation passes will now be more accurate. Two new passing options will also be introduced: the driven pass-and-go (which will replace the current manual pass button combo) and the dinked pass, which will cease to be an automatic, contextual pass variant and instead be user-controlled only.

For more, check out everything we know about EA’s E3 2019 plans, or everything we know about FIFA 20.

Source
Author: GameSpot

Back To Top
contact_small.png