GameSpot

Call Of Duty Modern Warfare Teases New Weapon Customization System

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is just a few months away, but more information about the upcoming first-person shooter keeps trickling out. Ahead of next month’s multiplayer gameplay reveal, Activision pulled the curtain back on a new “robust weapon customization” system.

A blog post on the official Activision website details the breadth of options available once the Modern Warfare reboot launches on October 25 for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. The system is called “gunsmithing” and it allows you to find “the precise type and style of firepower you require for any type of multiplayer game mode.” You’re allowed to customize both the Primary and Secondary weapons to your heart’s content, changing things like muzzles, optics, magazines, and more. But there’s a catch–you can only fill five slots on any given weapon. So, an assault rifle will have nine different areas–the muzzle, laser, optic, stock, rear grip, magazine, underbarrel, barrel, and a perk–but only five of them can be filled at once.

No other details about gunsmithing were revealed, but the blog post claims that Modern Warfare will boast “an impressive array of options.” The official Call of Duty Twitter account posted a teaser showcasing the many variations available thanks to gunsmithing. You can check out the video below.

We got a chance to check out the game’s new 2v2 Gunfight mode, noting that the mode “is an excellent reminder of what gives Call of Duty’s multiplayer its lasting popularity.” It’s likely that this new mode and gunsmithing will make an appearance during Infinity Ward’s livestream on Thursday, August 1 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST on August 1 (3 AM AET on August 2).

Source
Author: GameSpot

Back To Top
contact_small.png