GameSpot

Smash Bros. Ultimate Stream Coming This Week, Will Reveal More DLC Fighter News

Nintendo will reveal more details on Super Smash Bros. Ultimate‘s new DLC fighter, Hero of Dragon Quest fame, in a new livestream. The publisher says it will reveal the character’s release date and other “new details” in the stream, which will premiere on July 30 at 6 AM PT / 9 AM ET / 2 PM BST / 11 PM AET.

Nintendo has also confirmed Smash’s new update, version 4.0, will launch “within seven days.” It’s not clear if Hero will arrive at the same time as the 4.0 update. The company also warned this forthcoming update will erase any replays saved from previous versions; if you’ve replays you’d like to keep, you should convert them to videos and save them to the system from within the in-game vault.

Nintendo has released additional DLC fighters since launch to further expand Ultimate’s already extensive roster. The first was Piranha Plant, one of Mario’s most memorable enemies. It was followed up with Joker, the main protagonist of Persona 5. Dragon Quest’s Hero will be the third of the six DLC fighters scheduled for the game, while the next will be Banjo-Kazooie. The characters are available individually for $6 / £5.39 or together in the game’s season pass, which costs $25 / £22.49.

In our Super Smash Bros. Ultimate review, Edmond Tran wrote: “An inconsistent online mode and situational downers don’t stop Super Smash Bros. Ultimate from shining as a flexible multiplayer game that can be as freewheeling or as firm as you want it to be. Its entertaining single-player content helps keep the game rich with interesting things to do, as well as bolstering its spirit of loving homage to the games that have graced Nintendo consoles. Ultimate’s diverse content is compelling, its strong mechanics are refined, and the encompassing collection is simply superb.” He awarded the game an 9/10.

Source
Author: GameSpot

Back To Top
contact_small.png